Megan in Ireland - v. 2.0

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

2003-09-29: Finally a posting! Interesting stuff from the last while

Hello all! I realize this is my first posting in a long time, but as usual I've been very busy. I've got four postings to put up in the next bit, so keep checking. This posting will be fairly long, as it will be a general rundown of what I've been doing and stuff.

So, about a month ago, there were a group of Global Volunteers here (people from the States who actually pay to come to volunteer for 2 weeks), and they painted the Canada Room and built a stage in it, and it looks really great now. Although, it is exceedingly purple. Anyway, that was interesting to me because it was a bunch of Americans painting for Canada (ha ha).

Another interesting thing I did was to go with the volunteers to Roundwood which is just up the road from Glencree to visit Victoria's Way. The craziest man on this island lives there. He is Irish, but practices Buddhism/Hinduism. He wandered around India and commissioned the creation of a bunch of giant sculptures in those religious traditions. They are set up outside, so you sort of wander around looking at them along the meditation path. My favourite was a giant finger about 15 feet tall.

I've also been to Dublin a couple times - once with Warren overnite (that will be another posting) and once with one of the new volunteers - my new roomie - Caroline (USA). Caroline and I went to get permission to be on the island longer. Turns out, I've actually been here illegally the whole time! Anyway, they didn't really care because I'm Canadian, and so they practically begged me to stay (I'm kidding - it was a giant pain in the rear). Anyway, the good news is it is ok for me to stay. Caroline and I then went and picked up the rest of my prezzies to bring home, and then went and had a nap in St. Stephen's Green. It really is beautiful there. So green, and there are so many cool people to look at.

Another thing I did was to go to the Festival of World Cultures in Dun Laoghaire (a lot of people with great dreds Lauren!). I went by myself, and it was a great day to hang out and check out different music, and different stuff to buy. I also saw a photographic exhibit created by people from settled, traveling, refugee, and asylum seeking backgrounds which I then recruited for Glencree's exhibition. It really fits in with many of our values of inclusivity and anti-racism.

Another fantastic thing I did a few days ago was to hike up Sugar Loaf Mountain which is the tallest peak in the area. Actually, I get to look out at it every morning from my window. It was such a great hike. Honestly, Irish hikes are so wonderful. You drive nearly to the top of the mountain, and then scramble up some shale. It takes maybe half an hour. That is my kind of hike! At the top are views of Dublin, the Irish Sea stretching out as far as you can see, the Wicklow mountains, and way off in the distance, the Glencree.

A couple of days ago, I drove for Amanda's birthday, and we went down to Bray to the Porter House. Because I had to make two trips back to get everyone home, the second time into Bray was pretty late and it was last call at the bar. So, we left the bar, and rather than go to Abrakebabra (fast food chain) which is our general path (mmmmm garlic and cheese chips!), we decided to go swimming in the Irish Sea. So, it is 2:30 in the morning, and everyone but me has quite possibly been drinking, judging from the general volume of the group, and we decide to jump in the sea. What an amazing experience!!!!! It wasn't even that cold, and it felt like diving into black silk. I will always remember the advantages of locating a bar directly across from the sea.

Yesterday was beautiful and sunny, so I stayed in bed until noon. Lisa then made me get up and come for a hike with her, Levy, and Dan from Lower Lough Bray (the lake I always talk about) to Upper Lough Bray. It didn't take that long, and the view of the sea, and a small town nestled in, rolling mountains, two pristine lakes, and cliffs and sky all around is a feeling I'll never forget. Ok, I think that is all for now folks!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry - archives - email

diaryland