Megan in Ireland - v. 2.0

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

2003-10-03: Describing my life

Hello everyone! I wanted to give you some kind of idea of the people that are here now, and what it is that I am doing exactly at the Centre. I realized that many of my postings are about the extraordinary rather than what I do everyday (although that is pretty amazing too).

So, today is my third day on programme. What does that mean? Well, I am a volunteer still, but because I am staying here for six months in total, I spend my last month on programme where I assist the facilitators on the Youth and Schools Programme. That sound really hoity toity! Really what I've done in the last few days is work with Matthew (intern from Lethbridge!!!), Shane (intern from Dublin), and Warren (whom we all know and love), and Sean (programme coordinator) in the capacity of a facilitator. We get groups of about 15-16 years old and some 20-25 years old who come in for the day or a few days, and participate in the Glencree programmes.

We start out with ice-breakers like name games, and team-builders, and move to things like debates and discussions (around topics like refugees, travellers, and a united Ireland) sort of in a day. Then the next day we do more games to keep the energy up, and keep going with things like stereotyping, prejudice, and discrimination, the issue of the conflict in Northern Ireland, and the issue of war as brought up through a walk up to the German graveyard near the Centre. Sessions run from about 10am until about 10pm, and they are really full days, but so much fun.

This was my first chance on programme, so I basically just took care of secret friends, which is a chance for everyone to send warm fuzzies (Aunty A would like it) to their secret friend. Here is my last note from my secret friend (who turned out to be a guy in the group):

Hi Megan! Well we have finally come to our last day here at Glencree. Over the last few days I have learned a lot of new things and found out a lot about Glencree also. I would just like to thank everyone involved with us for the few days and it was a great experience. Megan, you were terrific and the group would'nt be there without you! Thanks everybody and especially you Megan. You're just wonderful. - Your secret friend.

Can you all understand why I love this place? Imagine getting to know all these people and understanding that you've had this much impact. This is just an example, because I want to share what it is like to be here.

Of course, I have felt this and heard this in my months in the kitchen, cleaning, and linking, but I just hadn't really shared it with everyone yet. Interns have the opportunity to work on programme 4 days a week, and then only one per week on general duties. But you know what? I wouldn't have chosen that now that I've done the other.

My learning experience here has been one where I have learned what it is like to serve other people with no expectation of anything in return. I'm not even going to apologise for becoming a globey like my mom - this is the best I've ever felt in my life. I am an important part of an amazing place! Even 12 hour days in the kitchen are worth it. We do all the food prep that the chef (Sheila) asks of us, and all of the clean-up (in the kitchen and dining room). As for cleaning, we are responsible for keeping all three buildings, housing offices, volunteers, guests, meeting rooms, reception, social areas, and bathrooms clean and tidy under the housekeeper's (Geraldine) direction. Linking gives us the opportunity to sit in on sessions with programmes and groups that come in, in addition to greeting/checking-in groups, preparing meeting rooms, following through with requests, preparing coffee and tea, and being generally personally responsible for making sure the group's stay is fantastic.

There are paid staff (Centre Manager is Edel, the accountant Peter, Geraldine, and Sheila), as well as paid programme staff (Jacinta/Hillary (LIVE), Wilhelm (ex-combatants), Sean/Hugh (youth and schools)), and people like Ian White (executive director of the Centre), who are all supported by the volunteers. I feel really brilliant to have any part in a place like this. I really appreciate everything that Glencree does in the way of reconciliation and the peace process.

So, what about the volunteers you ask? Well, the new long-term volunteers have started, and I have to say that the vibe is not great. A lot of the volunteers came here with expectations of learning something (about the conflict). Warren and I posed the argument that much of the learning is not formally taught here, rather it is self-initiated. This is part of the learning experience here in addition to learning what it is like to truly serve (this definitely means driving on your days off, even if you don't want to). However, I do see the point of view that it doesn't have to be like this, in that there could be some information sessions and that sort of thing. But I really truly feel that a committment is a committment, and what needs to happen is everyone just needs to do their work, and to the best of their ability. That seems to be just the way it works here (and maybe in life). I'm definitely not saying that I've always been so positive, but I can say for myself and many other volunteers who became disillusioned at some point - WE STILL DID A GREAT JOB! I don't know how this is going to work out, but this place is sliding below my perfectionist standards. I understand that everyone feels like we work too hard, but maybe it would help to treat it as a challenge and see how well you can function under pressure or something, I don't know.

Anyway, it definitely isn't everyone who is having a hard time, so I think it will be ok. In short here is a list of the volunteers as of today: Dan (USA), Gregors (Poland), Warren (South Africa), Alessandro (Italy), Caroline (USA), Amanda (USA), Angelica (Sweden), Liz (USA), Erin (Canada), Lisa (Germany), Will (USA), Shane (intern from Dublin), Matthew (intern from Lethbridge), Levy (Congo). Just glancing at this list will tell you that there is not enough cultural diversity to provide any challenge to the volunteer group! Anyway, it is starting to mix up a little. The other thing is that Warren and Levy are the only people left from the group when I first got here, and Levy finally got his visa to Australia so he is leaving soon. And on that note, I finish this ridiculously long posting - I guess I just wanted to get all this down!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry - archives - email

diaryland