Megan in Ireland - v. 2.0

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

2003-07-13: BBQ and Howth

Ok - it has been a while since I last posted, and since my parents and Wue are coming tomorrow (!), I thought I better do a catch up so when I get back from my holiday, I will just talk about it.

First of all...Canada Day! Yay for July 1st. Liz from Lethbridge (workshop director sort of) had brought all the vols Canadian gifts which were displayed proudly on this day. The best thing though is that the South African group decided to have a bbq for everyone because they were leaving the next day. This involved three kinds of meat for each person, pap (traditional maize dish), and chakalaka (spicy bean thing). There was great salads and everything. And it helped me realize that IRISH PEOPLE HAVE BLAND FOOD! Months of no flavour led to a serious mouth adventure which was fantastic. I also found a very strange phenomenon at work. When there is only you and another Canadian on Canada Day in what feels like all of Ireland, you tend to drink enough for all of Canada to make up for it. (Hee hee) Good times man.

Second thing of interest was a day trip to Howth. It is the last stop on the DART on the other side of Dublin from where I live. I went with Sarah, Margaret Rose (intern from Belfast), and Caitlin. It is a beautiful fishing village which I definitely have to go back to. We ended up going on "The Cliff Walk" which turned out to be a 12 km walk along very scenic cliffs. Amazing views and great times with the girls. We treated ourselves to dinner at Montello's in Bray when we got back and felt like stars (who were slighty dirty and smelly having gone partial swimming in the ocean with clothes on).

Anyway that is about it for now, except I wanted to say that Sarah left our family to go back to Germany. She was here about two months and we became very good friends. I miss her a lot. Her going away party was at the Harbour Bar in Bray (one of our fav haunts). We dressed up glam and Warren made his Irish debut at open mike and it was really good times. I know we will keep in touch, but I am starting to realize how Glencree is a family that you are so close to, but can never really go back to because it doesn't stay the same. Anyway, we all just try to appreciate the time we have together.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry - archives - email

diaryland