Megan in Ireland - v. 2.0

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

2003-10-21: Belfast number two

Right. Well, here is my next fun-filled entry...Trip two to Belfast!!!

I went with Warren, Shane, Matthew, Angelica, Lisa, and Hillary to Belfast to work with the LIVE group. Usually the group meets in Glencree, but this time, they met in Belfast. We got to the hostel/hotel (the Farset) and were shocked to find...TV! CLEAR WATER! OUR OWN SHOWER!!! It was crazy I tell you. So, that evening Hillary and I snuck off to meet up with Gerry (former volunteer), and it was really great to see him. He's doing great by the way.

So, yes, then the next morning we got up for a full Ulster fry (yes, even the bread!) which was fantastic. Then we had a group session where my job was to sit in on it and take some notes. I have to talk to Ian about how much of it I am allowed to talk about and such before I can tell you all about it. Then in the afternoon, there was a tour that Warren and I opted out of, and instead met up with Margaret Rose who hung out with us. We went around downtown, and I saw a beautiful silk scarf which I said something about, and so Warren bought it for me for my birthday. Awwww - that is really cute right! Also, we went to a few pubs which was also cool. Anyway, that afternoon, we met up with the group and went to a lake nearby for a bit of a walk, which really was great. Then we came back for some dinner and all the vols went out to the pub, and I was feeling not so hot so I stayed home and ended up sleep-walking out into reception in just a t-shirt. Ah yes.

The next day, we finished up the session just before lunch, and then went downtown where Matthew, Shane, Warren, and I went to a great pub while everyone else shopped. Then we met up with Gerry and went to the pub where Margaret Rose works to see her once more. Then it was hometime.

It was a great trip to sort of help wrap up my time here. It has been important for me to visit a few volunteers, especially the ones I was really close to try to sort out how I'm feeling. The other important part of being back in Belfast was taking the obligatory tour of murals and streets (of which I have a lot of interesting pics), just to see the actual way that the conflict is carried out. Ok over and out...

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry - archives - email

diaryland