Megan in Ireland - v. 2.0

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

2003-10-21: Megan has a birthday!

YAY FOR BIRTHDAYS!!! A whole day just for me! I think there is nothing better.

So, here is my birthday...

It started when I got home from Belfast because it was after midnight, so I decided I was ok to open my cards and stuff from Canada. Thanks to Paige and Con for all the fixin's of a great party! Caroline, Warren, and I blew up all the balloons and decorated the dining hall with them and the confetti. Just so everyone would know it was my birthday.

The next morning, I decided to be lazy and sleep in, and then I took Warren into Bray, as it turned out to pick up my prezzie. He spoiled me all day. At lunch he gave me a really wonderful card (which he picked up in Belfast), a little stuffed (very yinnish) dog named Donegal in honour of the county where we first kissed (Awww again), and a huge bouquet of the most colourful flowers he could find.

Then, I did a little work, pretending to be responsible and all. So, for dinner, the Global Volunteers had given us a gift certificate for a new pizzeria that had opened in Enniskerry. Turns out the place is total class and we ended up spending a lot out of the volunteers' fund to cover all the wine and pizza. So fun! Warren also gave me chocolates at this point (as though he hadn't done enough!)Then we went into Bray to the Harbour Bar first and then to the Hibernia. Next, you guessed it, swimming in the Irish Sea! It is a little nippy in October. Then, we drove back up to the Centre, with only the minor problem of a car blocking the road, and us getting stuck trying to go around it. The gardai showed up eventually and just pushed the car out of the way. None of this respect the crime scene crap that we think is so important.

When we got back to the Centre, Pat had made me a cake with little birthday decorations and everything (such as a very classy set of handcuffs). Then the volunteers brought out a huge, wonderful, chocolately, whipped creamy cake with chocolate sauce (it turned out well - I must have been good this year, right Oma). They also made curry chips, chocolate chip cookies, and a big pan of chocolate bar. Think they've recognized my chocolate addiction?

So, yes, it was an absolutely fantastic birthday with a really great bunch of people and an amazing guy who loves me (although I did know this before all the gifts Warren!!)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry - archives - email

diaryland